WordPress Plugins – WordPress and Twitter

Plugins for WordPress helps turn blogs into efficient information conduits.

A plugin is a program (or bundle of programs) that is installed on a WordPress blog site that will accomplish one or more specific function(s).

These are some of the benefits:
– Help market blog site through search engines
– Help readers facilitate searching blog
– Keep networking sites linked
– Save time, no need to enter information on multiple networking sites
– Help build and market blog to gain advertising revenue

One example of a WordPress plugin is get information from a Twitter site back to a WordPress blog.

Most plugins are free; some are not

Darren Rouse, ‘the man behind ProBlogger,’ maintains a site dedicated to blogging and tweeting. He helps bloggers get started with plugins with his blog post 10 WordPress Plugins for New Blogs.

Over the next few blogs I will explain, by example, how to select and install a Twitter feed plugin on my WordPress blog.

Start with a Twitter site. Go to Twitter and sign. up. It is free and takes a few minutes. Make a post. ‘Follow’ other people and they may become ‘followers.’

I am posting links on my Twitter site to my articles that are published in online media. I also post about my WordPress blog, which brings us back to the reason for looking at a plugin that saves keyboarding time. Don’t double post when software can save do it and save the time?
Next blog I will look at the various free plugins that are available. I will choose one and begin ‘plugin’.

For those that want to work ahead, Tweet My Blog is a top plugin candidate.

1 Comment

Filed under Blogging, Techie Tips & Tricks for Journalists

One response to “WordPress Plugins – WordPress and Twitter

  1. jlsemmel

    Great information. I’m looking forward to your next blog post. I also want to read more about Darren Rouse. Sounds like he posts great information too. Thanks.

Leave a comment